No pity for vegetarians

  • 10.09.2011

A psychological thriller with a hormone traffic background, Rundskop/Bullhead is another example of Flemish talent grabbing the public’s attention with a (very) grim subject, treated with the necessary depth. Many journalists saw Scorsese (in his best days) in the young Michael R. Roskam, and we cannot fault them. Especially since the director seems to have found his very own De Niro, namely the ecstatic Matthias Schoenaerts with his fiery, animalistic charisma. The fact he transformed himself so much for a historical role also reminds of the great Bob (Raging Bull). All other awards won were certainly deserved. The only missing one seems to be for best music… but the film wasn’t even nominated. Strange perhaps since the music composed by Raf Keunen was rather exceptional.


After the nominations, the fantastic Limburgian thriller, which already attracted nearly 500,000 Belgian spectators to cinemas, was in a close race with Adem, but the latter had to content itself with the Vlaamse Prijs for best screenplay and best actress in a supporting role (Anemone Valcke).

Best Actress was won by Agnieszka Grochowska in Beyond the Steppes and Bert Ostyn won best music for Turquaze.

The last two awards were for the surprising project Schellebelle 1919 (special performance) and Gus Van den Berghe for Blue Bird (Flemish culture award).

The Vlaamse Prijzen are not the result of a global vote among members of the profession, but rather winners designated by a jury. For the 3rd edition, the president, Peter Van den Begin, lead actor in the also nominated Fritz en Freddy, chose to gather jury members who were not necessarily connected to the film world: photographer Lieve Blancquaert (Nic Balthazar’s partner), Hans Boulon boss of studio-100, Phara de Aguirre, TV journalist, Els Dottermans, actress, Piet Goddaer, singer, Jan Mulder, Dutch columnist and former football player and Christophe Van Rompaey, director.

The method reminds of other festivals and is radically different from classic formulas as used f.e. for the Oscars, Césars or Magrittes where all professionals are allowed a vote.

After De Helaasheid der dingen in 2010, it is Rundskop’s turn to be the expected winner. Unshakable as well? Yes, we are say: unshakable!